I almost forgot…

…It’s November 1! Which means NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) and NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month).

I’ve decided to go with the first, as I’m more likely to blog every day, even if it’s just a few lines, but less likely to write a 50,000-word novel by the end of the month with school, writing for The Ranger and writing for the Amarillo Globe-News.

Hands and keys

Look! I’m typing! (You never realize how gross your keyboard is until you take a photo of it. Also, don’t ask how I got the shot.)

I hope that committing to writing every day helps me get over my fear of hitting the “Publish” button. I love to write. Everyone around me knows that I do. It comes easier to me than it does a lot of other people (even though I still need an editor every.single.time) and after I’m done with a piece, I usually feel OK about it.

But I’m also making a mental list of at least a handful of things I could have done better, spots I could have made more interesting or sentences I could have tightened. Knowing that my writing is never perfect and that someone, somewhere will not be pleased makes me clam up every time.

I’ve known for two weeks that I had committed to NaBloPoMo. I cycled through hundreds of ideas for the month. Yet her I am, posting day one at 11:42 p.m.

So I’d like to ask you, my loyal readers, to give me some feedback. What should I write about? Is there any story you’ve heard from me, but would like me to share with the world? I have a bag full of embarrassments, from bounce houses to somersaults in the mud, that I’m sure would get a few laughs.

Should I write about those? Or should I share more thoughts on my favorite things? Thoughts on my least favorite things (like the fact that 95% of the drivers in Amarillo really shouldn’t be behind a wheel)? Give me a topic, a word, anything, and I’ll do my best to write about it.

Except for tomorrow. Tomorrow, I’ve already got a plan. There will be pictures and hopefully, laughter.

80s1

The photo that inspired tomorrow’s post. There’s a lot more where that came from.

See you there.

Leave a Reply

